School Zone

Proposed Amendment to Kaikorai Primary School Enrolment Zone

Kaikorai Primary School is proposing the following changes to the Kaikorai Zone.

•    North-east on Littlebourne Road until Wallace Street
•    North-west on Fairfax Street until Wales Street (including up to 483 Highgate and 476 Highgate)

The new Zone will be starting from the intersection of Michie Street, Granville Terrace, and Bellevue Street the home zone follows;
•    North on Michie Street until Huntley Avenue
•    East on Huntley Avenue until Lawson Street
•    North on Lawson Street until Scarba Street
•    North-east on Scarba Street until Sligo Terrace
•    North-east on Sligo Terrace until Stuart Street
•    North-west on Stuart Street until Littlebourne Road
•    North-east on Littlebourne Road until Wallace Street
•    North-east on Wallace Street until Lywood Avenue (including Wallace Street up until Newington Avenue)
•    North-west on Lywood Avenue until Claremont Street
•    North-east on Claremont Street until Fairfax Street (including Hamel Street)
•    North-west on Fairfax Street until Wales Street (including up to 483 Highgate and 476 Highgate)
•    North-east on Wales Street until Lynne Street
•    North-west on Lynn Street until Chapman Street
•    South-west on Chapman Street until Dale Street (including Cohen Place and Craighall Crescent)
•    South-west on Dale Street until Kinsman Street
•    South-east on Kinsman Street until Nairn Street (including Kinsman Street to the north-west on Dale Street)
•    South-west on Nairn Street until Beresford Street
•    North-west on Beresford Street until Farley Street
•    South-west on Farley Street until Taieri Road
•    South-east on Taieri Road until Wairoa Road
•    South-west on Wairoa Road until Fife Street
•    West on Fife Street until Greenock Street
•    South-east on Grennock Street until Kaikorai Valley Road (including Greenock Street to the north-west of Fife Street)
•    South-west on Kaikorai Valley Road until its intersection with Brockville Road (including Frasers Road)
•    North-east back up Kaikorai Valley Road until Falcon Street
•    South-east on Falcon Street until Highgate
•    South-west on Highgate until Kenmure Road (including Lundie Street, Belgrave Crescent, Delta Street, Beta Street, Gamma Street, Northview Crescent, and Epsilon Street)
•    South-west on Kenmure Road until Carnarvon Street
•    East on Carnarvon Street until Preston Crescent
•    North on Preston Crescent until Bright Street
•    East on Bright Street until Granville Terrace
•    North on Granville Terrace until its intersection with Bellevue Street and Michie Street

If you would like to make a submission on this amendment please email [email protected] or in writing to The Board Chair, 22 Tyne St, Roslyn, Dunedin 9010.

Submissions close on Saturday 13th October.


Enrolment at Kaikorai Primary School is governed by an enrolment scheme. The enrolment of out of zone students is governed by the provisions of the Education Act 1989.

The Education Amendment Act (No 3) 2010 changed the priority of out of zone students selected via the ballot. The change only affects students not living in school's home zone.

Applications for out of zone enrolment will now be processed in the following order of priority:

  • First priority must be given to students who have been accepted for enrolment in the following special programme(s) run by the school and approved by the Secretary for Education.*
  • Second priority must be given to applicants who are siblings of current students.
  • Third priority must be given to applicants who are siblings of former students.
  • Fourth priority must be given to any applicant who is either a child of an employee of the board of the school or a child of a member of the board of the school.
  • Fifth priority must be given to all other applicants.

If there are more applicants in the second, third, fourth, or fifth priority groups than there are places available, selection within the priority group will be by a ballot conducted in accordance with instructions issued by the Secretary for Education under Section 11G(1) of the Education Act 1989. Parents will be informed of the date of any ballot by notice in a daily or community newspaper circulated in the area served by the school.

The Board of Trustees has determined that there are likely to be places in the following year group for out of zone students in 2018.

New Entrant – 0 Spaces

Year 1 – 0 Spaces

Year 2 – 0 Spaces

Year 3 – 0 Space

Year 4 – 0 Space

Year 5 – 0 Spaces

Year 6 – 0 Spaces