North Zone & Otago Athletics

By Felicia Ward | Posted: Saturday November 23, 2019

On Thursday 7 November the North Zone Athletics were held at the Caledonian on what was a scorcher Dunedin day. 32 athletes represented Kaikorai in sprints, long jump, discus, shot put and relays. Our athletes performed particularly well coming home with a selection of placings.

Competitors who reached the qualifying standard and were placed within the top 10 were then selected to compete at the Otago Championships on Thursday 21 November. The calibre of competitors at this event is extremely high, with the best of the best from all over Otago competing. We were lucky to have 22 athletes from Kaikorai competing in sprints, long jump and relays. Congratulations to all the students who competed at this event as It is a huge achievement to just be selected. The students should be all very proud of themselves.

I continue to be impressed by the determination and sportsmanship that our Kaikorai student show with the recent events being no exception. The pride and dedication that our students demonstrated while representing our school is something that we as teachers are extremely proud of.

A huge thank you must go to Mr Reid and Mrs Kernaghan who gave up so much of their own time to organise and train our athletes for these events. We are so grateful for your continued support and we cannot thank you enough!

Another big thank you also goes to the parents who helped with transport and cheering our athletes on. These events would not be possible without your help so thank you again!

North Zone Results:

Charlotte Watkins: 2nd - Under 10 Long Jump & 5th - Under 10 Sprint

Isabelle Fahey: 5th - Under 11 Long Jump

Archie Gordon: 2nd - Under 10 Long Jump, 5th - Under 10 Sprints

Maddox Adamson: 5th - Under 11 Long Jump

Olivia Brown: 2nd - Under 10 Sprint

Luke Milburn: 4th - Under 11 Sprints

Henry Hodgson: 4th - Year 5 & 6 800m

Victor Rivollet: 5th - Under 10 Sprints

Charlotte Watkins, Olivia Brown, Olivia McIntyre & Sophie Wellington: 1st - Under 10 Relay

Luke Milburn, Maddox Adamson, Samuel Yabakirua & Sam Goodchild: 2nd - Under 11 Relay

Samuel Crump, Race Porter, Jayden Lu & Jude Smillie: 3rd - Under 11 Relay

Will Pyper, Henry Hodgson, Rhys Beattie & Ben Couling: 4th - Under 12 Relay

Official Otago Results still to come.

Image Gallery